Established in the Middle Ages around the possessions of the Ranucci family of Florence

The village of San Romolo, which was established around the end of the 12th century, is named after the church of San Romolo, built in 1220 under the control of the Rinucci family of Florence and made of sandstone extracted in nearby quarries.

Prior to merging with the municipality of Lastra a Signa, which occurred in 1774, San Romolo depended administratively on what is today the ward of San Martino in Gangalandi.

Share via Email Share via Facebook Share via Twitter