The church of Saints Maria and Lorenzo sits amidst the hills of the Arno and Pesa valleys, on the road from San Romolo to Carcheri.
Its earliest records are dated 1276. In 1449 it gathered the congregations of the churches of San Lorenzo a Marliana, Sant’Andrea a Castratole and San Donato a Misciano, after they had been closed down.
Records dating between the 16th and 19th century confirm the plain furnishings of the church and the lack of fine architectural features. The restoration work carried out over time emphasized these characteristics by maintaining the essential in order to restore its original medieval appearance.
This was the objective pursued by the architect Rodolfo Sabatini, who directed the restoration project in 1929. He is credited with the construction of the square-plan apse, the instalment of the balustrade and stone pulpit, and the restoration of the ancient stonework of the facade.
The exterior of the rectory has instead maintained its original appearance.