The church of Santo Stefano sits on a hill overlooking the old road to Pisa, Via Vecchia Pisana. The earliest documents concerning it are dated 1224.
The broad front portico was restored in the 17th century. Traces of the 17th-century frescoes which once decorated its walls are visible and the coat-of-arms of the Bertelleschi family, patrons of the church, can still be seen on the facade.
The single aisle interior is covered by a truss roof. The two 17th-century-style altars feature a 16th-century crucifix and a painting of St. Simon Stock and Mary Magdalene of the Pazzi adoring Our Lady of the Rosary (c. 1750).
Located across from the church is the 18th-century oratory of the Brotherhood of the Visitation and the Rosary, preceded by an entrance portico with Tuscan-style columns.