On a steep slope of the Gonfolina hills

Santa Maria a Lamole is perched on a hillside of the Gonfolina hills, not far from the hamlet of Brucianesi. In 1954 the church was upgraded so it could substitute the one at Lamole as a parish church.

Its earliest records are dated 1243, but its origins probably reach further back.

The front portico is a reconstruction of a previous one and the building consists of a single aisle covered by a truss roof. Its walls were most likely frescoed, as they show traces of wall paintings dating from the early 15th century. Two niches on one of the side walls are decorated with frescoes reflecting the highly-popular artistic current of Bicci di Lorenzo’s workshop. The main altar was built in 1639 by Lorenzo della Benina, who commissioned his funerary monument (attached to the wall) in his lifetime.

Santa Maria a Lamole was the church of two brotherhoods: of the Blessed Sacrament, founded in 1572, and of the Rosary.

Share via Email Share via Facebook Share via Twitter