The church of San Martino in Carcheri is located just before Ginestra, coming from San Romolo and traveling towards the Val di Pesa. There was a church on the same site as early as 1272, but the current one dates from 1834.
Under the external portico the medieval masonry is still visible and so are traces of the ancient portal, which was in a slightly different position compared to the present-day one. The style of the door was conceived by Michelozzo and spread throughout Tuscany from 1400.
It is a single-aisle church with a truss roof. The main altar is adorned with a triptych dating from 1399 and depicting Saint Martin and the beggar with Saint Anthony the Abbot, Saint James son of Alphaeus and Saint Miniatus, attributed to the ‘Maestro’ – pseudonym of a painter of the Catalan Gothic current.
Annexed to the left of the church is the chapel of the Compagnia della Santissima Annunziata, founded in 1592. A gilded case houses an Annunciation of the Florentine school, attributed to the circle of Alessandro Allori.